2014 Suzanne and Lee Ettelson Composer’s Awards


Two awards of $1,000 each will be given for new chamber works. Winning works will be performed during Composers, Inc.’s 2014-15 concert season in Berkeley. Award winners are expected to attend performances. Composers, Inc. will provide lodging. Works not awarded prizes will also be considered for programming.


All composers who are citizens or permanent residents of the United States are eligible to enter. Previous winners of this award are ineligible. Musical works requiring one to five performers are eligible, as are works employing electronic media (including tape alone). Composers may submit more than one work.

Preparing Your Entry

Anonymous submission: Remove or mask all indications of the composer’s name on scores and recordings. Scores and recordings must be marked with a pseudonym and accompanied by the following, which will not be seen by the judges: a 3×5 card for each work, showing composer’s name, pseudonym used, address, telephone, and email address if available. Send one score per work, accompanied by a cassette or CD recording, if available. MIDI realizations are also acceptable. Scores must be bound or stapled. Do not send parts. If you want your materials returned, enclose a self-addressed envelope bearing the proper postage. Composers, Inc. is not liable for accidental loss or damage to materials. A non-refundable entry fee of $25US for one work or $20 USD per work for two or more works is due on submission. Please enclose a check payable to Composers, Inc.


Anonymity of the entrants is observed throughout the judging process. The judges are the artistic directors of Composers, Inc.: Robert Greenberg, Frank La Rocca, Martin Rokeach, Allen Shearer, and Nick Vasallo.


Entries must be postmarked by December 1, 2013. Do not send by registered mail or other service that requires the addressee’s signature. Winners will be announced in March, 2014. You may reach us by e-mail at: mail@composersinc.org if you have any questions.

Send entries to:
Composers, Inc. Suzanne & Lee Ettelson Composer’s Award
PO Box 1282, Berkeley, CA 94701-1282

Composers, Inc. reserves the right to use the concert recordings of Award recipients for promotional use.

2014 Winners

Chris Arrell

Andrew Sigler

Past Winners Include

Mason Bates
Jose Miguel Bevia
Martin Bresnick
Susan Burkey
Edward Cansino
Ryan Carter
Donald Crockett
Nathan Davis
Justin Dello Joio
Michael Djupstrom
David Dzubay
Marti Epstein
Sean Friar
Burt Goldstein
Jose Halac
Jeffrey Hass
Jennifer Higdon
Pierre Jalbert
David Kechley
Martin Kennedy
Joseph Kolkovich
Shirish Korde
Mikel Kuehn
Mark Kuss
David Lang
David Macbride
Robert Maggio
Sean McClowry
Lansing D. McLoskey
Marjorie Merryman
James Mobberley
Clint Needham
Roger Neill
Sam Nichols
William Popp
Carlos Sanchez-Gutierrez
Carl Schimmel
Stephen Andrew Taylor
Christopher Theofanidis
Michael Timpson
Andrew Waggoner
Craig Walsh
Mischa Zupko
Ramon Zupko